What I mean by my title is there are so many social media outlets and even more apps that I can hardly wrap my head around them, that is why I am going to only speak about one. The garage band app we used for creating a podcast was a great learning experience for myself. Just as others in our class have used podcast for either their team or class I feel this app is very valuable. I hope to one day have my own baseball program and having the ability to create a podcast for my kids can be much more informative and direct than a text message. A podcast might be more practical in a sense than making 24 phone calls takes which can take a long time.
There is no doubt that I could spend hour upon hour researching this app or that app, but spending that kind of time plugged into a device just doesn't seem practical for my current or future situation. Information is all relative in accordance to your profession. If you are an elementary school teacher then the best way to find and share valuable app information might be at a convention or at teacher meetings. Relative information to what it is you do can be shared by communicating with your peers. I would have never learned about twitter or scoop it if it were not for my exposure to that stuff as a direct result of this class. Apps are wonderful and there are many great ones out there I just don't choose to seek out every single one that may or may not be of use to me. I am old fashion in this sense and I want to keep it that way. At the heart of my intentions as a coach are the development and progression of not only solid baseball players but productive members of society and I feel I can accomplish that primarily with my own gift of coaching and not what app I can use for this particular situation.



Leave a Reply.