For most people that know me they already have realized I am not a technology wizard. My skills in the realm of social media and technology are definetely below the norm I would say. But in my own defense I am making strides in the right direction especially with the help of my Kin 710 class "Technology in Kineisiology". With the help of this class I am being exposed to exciting new ways to teach and communicate in our education system with the use of podcast and iPods. 

As far as podcast go I have never experienced one or for that matter ever really thought in depth about podcast. I am facinated by the current and potential use of podcast and ipods in the education system. The idea behind podcasting is legitemate and has proven to be an effective tool by the universities that have already implemented the use of them. The use of podcast for an online program like our own, allows the student to hear and process a teachers instruction through auditory processes but also will allow for visual recognition. 

There are many different types of learners in this world, whether you are an auditory, visual, kinesthetic etc. The use of podcast in online programs cover a broad spectrum of an individual students learning needs. Not to mention the ability to watch a lecture or presentation multiple times rather than just taking notes during the original lecture (like most lectures).

For most social media tools like facebook and twitter I am not a huge proponate of them. I understand the sharing of information in real time and the benefits that are brought on by these social media plugs but I don't think they are centered around a students educational needs. On the other hand podcast and the use of ipods in the classroom can be tailored to the student and their learning experience. The ability to use your ipod for listening to lectures and podcast or even having the ability to record your own speeches or thoughts is tangible for the current population of students. Every teenager has their ipod or iphone on them at all times, what better tool to use for educational purposes. 

Social media still has not caught my full attention but the use of podcast and ipods in the education system has. Before this week of class I did not know anything about podcast or even the full extent of the uses of an iPod. This will be a topic I explore more and will probably use in my own 



Leave a Reply.