So far our Kin 710 class has incorporated a number of social media and technology outlets. I personally don't regularly use many of the social media plugs or utilize all this new technology to their fullest potential but I was intrigued with the creating your own podcast project. What a useful tool for communicating to students, fans, players, family etc. The most relieving part of the whole podcasting journey was the easy navigation and use of the garage band application. Such a cool program and I felt very able when it came to implementing audio and voice recordings into one. 

For personal reasons I can definitely see myself using podcast as part of my daily announcements for my players and staff. Emails are very useful when it comes to communication but having the ability to express emotion into your presentation as well as implement music makes it a whole other level of communication. I feel that communicating through a podcast is closer to face to face interaction as opposed to email or text. 

The way I see things is its all about communicating with someone using the most direct line of communication. The ability to speak with someone directly face to face is in my opinion hands down the most efficient form of communication. Obviously direct face to face conversation is not always possible so then a phone call usually can get the point across in a direct and relatively easy manner. As soon as you take the voice element out of a conversation I feel the message can more easily be misdirected or not be as precise; most of this "misdirection" comes from word choice or the way your format your sentences. When communicating with someone or a group using text (either text message, email twitter, Facebook, whatever) it is difficult to express true emotion. I feel text form of communication is not as efficient as voice or audio communications are. That is why I think podcasting changes the game as far as alternatives to face t 



Leave a Reply.