There is no doubt in my mind when it comes to getting a job a lot of it has to do with people you know. Obviously your own knowledge and skill is most important but knowing the right person can only help. I have only been involved in the coaching world for a little over a year now but I have made many connections. Just as was the case when I was a player, other coaches have taken me under their wing and provided me with opportunities I would not of had if it weren't for them. For me the most important thing I can do as a new face in the world of college baseball coaches is meet as many people as I can and make an impression that demonstrates who and what I am all about. Since entering into the coaching world I have reached out to just about every baseball connection I have ever had, high school coaches, college summer coaches etc. Even since being involved in this class I have met people whom I could potentially work with one day and that fires me up. Another helpful way of meeting people in my profession is doing camps. I worked a scout camp last winter and met a bunch of college coaches both young and old. At that camp I met an assistant coach at Hartnell Junior College In Monterey who told me about this program at FPU and here I am getting my masters. This world works in misterious w Like I said I don't care if its the professional coaching world or finding a job as a burger flipper, its not necessarily about what you know but who you know. Some people might cringe with disgust when reading this comment but its true and it is how this world works. 
6/2/2013 01:28:59 pm

I am in my third year of being a head coach and have found myself also reaching out to all my past coaches. I have kept in close contact with my high school and college coaches, and can definitely say they have and will continue to mold me to be the coach I am. I hope one day a former player can say the same.

I also agree that who you know is important. Connections are everything. You could be the most qualified person for a job, but might not even get an interview because you didn't have an "in."

You brought up many good points in your post. Thank you for sharing.

Reply
Nikki Schrey
6/2/2013 02:16:36 pm

As the saying goes, "It's not always what you know, it's who you know." I think you are exactly right in saying that often times it really is about who you know when someone gets lined up with a job. Being knowledgeable in a given field is definitely important but I completely agree, the connections and people you meet throughout your life and beginning jobs are often the ones that help boost your career or provide you with other opportunities for advancement. I appreciate that you speak from your heart and are able to voice your opinions in a way that is supported by your own personal experiences. While many of the opportunities in my life have came about from hard work, I would be a fool to deny the many opportunities that have stemmed from my personal connections as well. I enjoyed reading your post, thanks.

Reply
Kyle Wise
6/3/2013 12:36:42 am

I enjoyed your view on Professional Networking. Who you know has a lot to do with how high you are able to climb in the coaching profession. What also holds weight in this area is how well people like you. I say this because in baseball there is a set of knowledge about the game that a lot of coaches have a good grasp on. Because of this a lot of time what separates others is how well they are liked in the coaching community.

I worked the Trosky Summer Kickoff Baseball Camp at Santa Clara University this weekend and I am pretty sure I met the coach from Hartnell you met at your camp. His name is Jeff Eaton and we were able to talk at length about the masters program because we were fungoing to kids all day. It was great to meet someone and talk about the class face to face. It was nice to hear someone say that they had issues with some of the same things as I was having.

I enjoyed your post and look forward to more in the future.

Reply
Matt Souza
6/14/2013 12:12:08 am

Travis,
I completely agree with you. Our profession is so unique and is really based on networking especially as an assistant coach. I know we are both working our ways up the coaching ladder, networking with other coaches especially in the recruiting world can lead to them viewing us as hard working individuals which in turn can lead to possible recommendations down the road. I'm glad you are chasing your teams, it was great meeting you early in the year Travis! Goodluck to you on the rest of the program, let me know if you need anything down the road!

Reply



Leave a Reply.