The idea of being linked in or plugged into the world of technology is concerning to me. I see the many benefits of having technology and infinite information at our fingertips with just a click of a button but I also see some of the negative effects. Speaking on behalf of personal experience I have noticed a change in the way kids and young adults act. I see more and more people in social settings grabbing a bite to eat or drinking coffee at the local starbucks and they are not engaged in conversation with eachother but rather plugged into their iphone or android device tweeting and text to someone else. I find this act highly offensive and think it is rude when you are with someone who is more interested in facebook than the person right in front of them. 

Personally I feel like I am caught in the middle of this cultural shift. I myself have an iphone and would consider myself plugged in to a certain extent but I still feel like a throwback in  a sense. I do not find technological devices particularly relaxing interactions. Maybe its because I am behind in this whole technology thing but I don't mind not being cutting edge. I think being able to carry on conversations with others face to face and having the ability to focus on the task at hand makes me more human.......... Being more human doesn't make me a better person than others who are consistently plugged in but I think there is something to be said about sticking to your roots and not being consumed by social media and technology.

Another reservation I have about this whole notion of "generation always on" is the fact that computer software companies have so much invested in this new generation. Many of the comments from these organizations focus on the future and the possibilities for the human brain to be linked in to such a vast array of knowledge. All I am saying is these companies see dollar signs and don't necessarily care about what is best for the people (that's just my opinion).



Leave a Reply.