Situations where I feel I am in the sweet spot... Well before I get to into this topic I first want to acknowledge the fact that there is comfort in what you know. What I mean by that is if you are trying something new or something your not familiar with and you struggle then you are less likely to be positive about that particular activity. Being in the sweet spot is all about comfort and being confident in what your doing. I have felt this sweet spot before in sports as well as the work place but its definitely a more familiar concept in the sports arena for myself. As a player being in the sweet spot, dialed in, locked in whatever you want to call it is a tremendous feeling. Being in the sweet spot is purely instinctual and does not require extra effort by any means. When you are in the sweet spot things come easy. 

Situations where I am not in the sweet spot...  Coordinating a group of young people in a classroom setting is not one of my strengths. I have learned this through experience and rather than focus on trying to get better at controlling a classroom of young people I just wont do it. I love kids especially the interactions you have with them on the ball field but when it comes to classroom/day care stuff I am just not built for that. 

As far as being in the sweet spot in the workplace that is another ball game as far as I am concerned. I am just now learning what it is to be in the sweet spot career wise. Prior to getting into coaching baseball I worked a full time job that I did not love. Terrible hours, long commutes and only some satisfaction at the end of the day. It was a typical gotta work to pay the bills situation. There were not too many sweet spot days in that job, but there were a few.  Now being involved in coaching baseball I feel I am finding a more consistent sweet spot and I feel a lot of that has to do with the whole notion that there is comfort in what you know. I played ball from the time I was 5 years old till I was 23 Years old, I have a grasp of what the game of baseball is about.  Being a student of the game was always one of my strengths and for that I owe a lot of my current knowledge. There is a saying in the game of baseball "let the game come to you".I think this quote is relevent in the sense that if you seek the sweet spot and thats what all your focus is on good luck doing the small things in order to put yourself in the sweet spot. Don't overlook the obstacles that are right in front of you. Baseball will humble you in a hurry, the best baseball players in the history of the game failed 7 out of 10 times at the plate. 



Leave a Reply.